Our History

Our History

The early members of the church of Christ met in the county courtroom beginning about 1905 or 1906 until they were denied that privilege by the San Patricio county comissioner's court. The Sinton Town Company offered to make another site available with certain obligations for development of the property. A group from the church of Christ, led by C.W. Hafer and T.N. Mynier, took title to the property as trustees on November 23, 1907 and erected a small frame building on the east half of the present building site. The original building was enlarged and in 1923 additional property was added, along with a small building for additional classroom space. 

In 1948, those buildings were removed and construction began on the present buidling, being completed in the fall of 1949. The dedication service was held on December 18, 1949, with William Edward McDaniel delivering the first sermon in the new building. During the period of construction, the church met in the auditorium of the Sinton High School on Archer Street. The current classroom building was added in the early 1950s.

In November of 1984, the building was remodeled and the church again met in the high school auditorium, this time on Pirate Drive. The congregation returned to the Borden Street building in February of 1985. 

Some of the first families to form the Sinton Church of Christ were the Mynier, Hafer, Smith, Swimly, Kinney, Eads, Barker, and Wyatt families.

Those who have served as elders from 1907 to the present include T.N. Mynier, O.E. Smith, H.M. Eads, John Ernest Holbrook, Jim Montgomery, James K. Polk, Emmitt Whitefield, Bro Barnhart, E.T. Carson, B.O. Buford, L.R. Parker, Ernest H. Lewis, Herbert Gist, Robert Jennings, Irvin Hart, Cleo T. Bell, Ray Troup, Woodrow Hart, William Moore, Ben Hill, Glen Torno, Warren Miller, George Gresham, Tim E. Rogers, Steven Troup, and Lance Hunt. 

Those who have been employed as ministers include J.E. Wainwright, Ben West, L. Frailey, W.E. Speck, W.O. Davis, R.T. Towery, Peyton Oliphant, William Edward McDaniel, Robert Lecroix, O.J. Russell, William E. Coffman, Dean Bullock, Maurice Barnett, Shad Edwards, Wayne Partain, Joe Neil Clayton, Roger Hendricks, Jack Holt, Billy Davis, Ken Fields, Dee Lancaster, David Lanius, Larry Bilbo, Daniel Dow, and Hunter Allen.